SANTA FE TRAIL USD 434 BOARD OF EDUCATION

Regular Meeting February 12, 2020 6 p.m.

Santa Fe Trail District Administrative Center

Call to Order Tanner Black called the meeting to order at 6 p.m.

Board Members Present Jason Supple, Justin Ramsdell, Madison Sowers, Zac

Anshutz, Tanner Black, Liz Clark and Amy Crotinger.

Board Members Absent None

Administrators & Others

present

Amy Hill, Patrick Graham, Diann Faflick, Zach Harwood, Vici Jennings, Maggie Mead, Courtnee Maichel, Gary

Rush, Ashley Michaelis, Lari Jarrett, Michele

Schieferecke, Alexis Soby, Ed Hug, Gretta Hug, Kayla

Chiddix, Rhonda Hewitt, and patrons.

Agenda Approval Motion by Zac Anshutz, second by Madison Sowers, to

approve the amended agenda adding items 3.1 Executive session – student matter; item 3.2 executive session, non-elected personnel; item 4.5 Employment – Herren and Joyce; item 4.7 Out-of-district enrollment, Abel; item 4.8 Resignation of Personnel – Carissa Koger and Kaci

Shively; and removing items 3.2 Lorle Bolt, 7.1 District Data Review, 7.2 Transportation. Motion carried 7-0.

Public/Department Communication

Motion by Zac Anshutz, second by Justin Ramsdell, to enter executive session for 30 minutes to discuss

confidential student information pursuant to the exception relating to actions adversely or favorably affecting a student under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the board room at 6:33 pm, with attorney Ashley Rohleder

joining by phone. Motion carried 7-0.

Justin Ramsdell, Madison Sowers, Tanner Black, and Amy Crotinger returned to open session at 6:33 pm. Motion by Tanner Black, second by Justin Ramsdell, to extend executive session for student matters 17 minutes with Ashley Rohleder joining by phone. Motion carried 4-0.

Ashley Rohleder left the executive session at 6:50 pm.

Liz Clark, Tanner Black, Jason Supple, and Madison Sowers returned to open session at 6:50 pm. Motion by Liz Clark, second by Jason Supple, to extend executive session for a student matter by 10 minutes to 7 pm. Motion carried 4-0.

The board returned to open session at 7 pm. No action taken.

Motion by Zac Anshutz, second by Justin Ramsdell, to enter executive session for fifteen minutes to discuss personnel pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the board room at 7:15 pm, with Alexis Soby present.

Alexis Soby left executive session at 7:10 pm.

The board returned to open session at 7:15 pm. No action taken.

No other public comment

Consent Agenda Items

Motion by Amy Crotinger, second by Madison Sowers, to approve the amended consent agenda. Motion carried 7-0.

- Approved the minutes of the January 15, 2020 meeting.
- Approved the January 2020 treasurer's report.
- Approved the January 2020 school activity fund reports.
- Approved the presented check journal.
- Approved the employment of Alisha Gibbs, bus para at \$10 per trip; Michele Herren, 8th grade science at BS, step 1; Leslie Joyce, high school science at MS, step 9.
- Approved the professional development contracts of Laura Gilchrist for \$34,759.50; Glenda Manachino for \$27,150 with Manachino expenses reimbursed by LINK grant.
- Approved the out-of-district enrollment of Abel, PK.
- Accepted the resignation of Carissa Koger, high school cheer sponsor and Kaci Shively, 5th grade teacher.

Administrators

Administrators fielded questions from board members.

Items from the Past for Reconsideration

None

New Items for Discussion and Consideration

None

Executive Session

Motion by Zac Anshutz, second by Jason Supple, to enter executive session for five minutes to discuss personnel pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 7:25 pm. Motion carried 7-0.

The board returned to open session at 7:25 pm.

Motion by Amy Crotinger, second by Madison Sowers, to approve a one year contract extension for the 2021-22 school year to John Denk. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Jason Supple, second by Justin Ramsdell, to approve a one year contract extension for the 2021-22 school year to Patrick Graham. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Jason Supple, second by Amy Crotinger, to approve a one year contract extension for the 2021-22 school year to Zach Harwood. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Zac Anshutz, second by Justin Ramsdell, to approve a two year contract for the 2020-21 and 2021-22 school years to Vici Jennings. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Madison Sowers, second by Jason Supple, to approve a one year contract for the 2020-21 school year to Faith Flory. Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Jason Supple, second by Zac Anshutz, to approve a one year contract for the 2020-21 school year to Melanie Wallace. Motion carried 7-0.

Superintendent's Report

Three Lakes Education Cooperative Report Mileage/expense/overtime report

Next Regular Board Meeting	Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Adjournment	President Tanner Black adjourned the meeting at 7:29 pm.
Amy Hill, Clerk	
Tanner Black, President	